Superstitions – Guest Post by Kami Garcia

Today we’re pleased to welcome Kami Garcia, NYT Bestselling author and YA Horror writing guru who is best known for her books BEAUTIFUL CREATURES and UNBREAKABLE. The sequel UNMARKED, THE LEGION BOOK 2 arrives September 30th, just in time to get you in the ghost hunting Halloween mood. Pre-order here:

Without further ado, Kami Garcia –

x Catherine Scully

garcia_unmarked_HC_forweb2[1][1]Superstition (n): A belief or notion, not based on reason or knowledge, in or of the ominous significance of a particular thing, circumstance, occurrence, proceeding, or the like.

 

I have too many superstitions to count, and I always seem to have at least one superstitious character in my books. In UNBREAKABLE, Alara is superstitious (and pretty badass). While Alara has some superstitions I don’t share (you won’t catch me passing on a strawberry shake just because it’s pink—a color that represents death according to Alara), we have plenty of superstitions in common.

 

The Number 13

If you follow me online, you probably know that the number 13 and I do not mix. I won’t sleep in a hotel room with the number 13 on the door, fly in row 13, or number my blog posts with 13 (e.g., my post “13.5 Things That Will Change Your Writing”—that .5 makes all the difference). While this superstition isn’t always convenient, sometimes it works in my favor. See an especially memorable incident from the Beautiful Darkness tour here.

 

Walking Over a Grave

Much like Alara, from the Legion, I would never intentionally walk over a grave. It’s bad luck, disrespectful, and just creepy. Fortunately, I don’t find myself in cemeteries that often, so this one isn’t too much of a problem. Look for a funny scene in UNMARKED (The Legion, Book 2) in which Alara isn’t quite as lucky.

 

666

I don’t want anything to do with three sixes in a row. Hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia (try saying that five times fast) is fear of the number six hundred sixty-six. It’s also the reason I have to change my passport number due to an unfortunate oversight on the part of the passport office. Don’t they have a computer algorithm to prevent this?

 

Bottle Trees

Bottle trees are a Southern tradition. You might remember them from Beautiful Creatures. Tree branches are adorned with glass bottles in order to catch evil spirits before they can enter your house. The spirits will be lured into and trapped inside the bottles, then destroyed by the morning light. I don’t have one at my house, but my mom does.

 

Cats

Bad luck if a black cat crosses your path, cats stealing your breath while you sleep, the fact that more than a few cultures believe cats can see spirits… With so many superstitions surrounding cats, there must be a reason (which is reason enough for a superstitious person like me not to have one). Cats play a major role in the beginning of UNBREAKABLE—and not in a good way. The ancient Egyptians can keep their feline friends. I’m allergic, which gives me a good excuse to stick with dogs.

kami-signature

Kami Garcia is the #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Beautiful Creatures and Dangerous Creatures novels and the author of the instant New York Times bestseller & Bram Stoker nominated novel Unbreakable, and the sequel Unmarked, in The Legion series. Kami lives in Maryland with her family and their dogs Spike and Oz (named after characters from the TV show Buffy the Vampire Slayer). Learn more about her on her websites www.kamigarcia.com & www.thelegionseries.com, and follow her on Twitter @kamigarcia.

 



Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

  1. Superstitions leave so much room for story! 😀

  2. I’ve never seen the bottle trees. We don’t have them around here. Probably because the glass bottles would end up being blow around by the wind and smash into each other, releasing the evil spirits to come wreak havoc on your house. (We seem to have a lot of wind here.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

