SCREAM QUEEN: J.R. Johansson

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m a YA thriller author who is actively trying to survive off of Red Vines and Diet Coke. I will keep you updated on my progress. My debut, INSOMNIA, released in June with Flux and the sequel, PARANOIA, is scheduled for June of 2014. I also have two more scheduled with Macmillan in Winter of 2015 & 2016.

Insomnia

Why horror?

For me, horror is something that really allows you to run the gamut of emotions. I’m also a firm believer that feeling the darker emotions, like fear/dread/sorrow, makes the light ones shine brighter. Laughter in the middle of a tense moment or tears feels so much better than in any other situation. I love being able to play in that kind of playground.

What horror scene stayed with you and why?

There is a section from Rats in the Walls by Lovecraft where you see the narrator’s sanity devolve line after line. It’s chilling. Seeing the way his grasp on reality unravels is terrifying and fascinating. It’s one reason I started working on the psychological side of the scary stuff.

Are there any horror projects you’re looking forward to?

I’m super excited about the growth of horror in YA. I see new projects announced on Publisher’s Marketplace every day that I’m so excited for. There are too many to really pick one.

Are you writing horror currently or will you be? If so, tell us about it!

Yes! I mostly hang out on the thriller end of the horror spectrum. Everything I’ve done so far hovers in the horror area somewhere though. My 2015 untitled project with Macmillan is darker than the others and I can’t wait for that to come out into the world.



Categories: Introductions

Tags: , ,

6 replies

  1. I am so intrigued by your 2015 project ’cause INSOMNIA isn’t light reading, so for this one to be darker gets me itching to read it! “Rats in the Walls” is terrifying. Awesome interview, Jenn!

  2. I agree with Sarah, I am dying of curiosity about your new project!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

