SCREAM QUEEN: Hillary Monahan

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Hi. I’m Hillary. I like long walks through the crypts and holding hands by the moldering pile of . . . wait. That makes you accessories so let’s start over. I’m a thirty-something psychotic living in Massachusetts with a horror dork husband and a whole bunch of animals I call my furkids. I spend a lot of time locked in a small room with said furkids and it makes me a little odd, but that’s okay. I make words. Sometimes they’re good words. Those words tend to slant toward the horrible, the weird, the funny, and the profane.

I’ve made a solemn vow to not be too profane on this blog, though. I’ll probably screw it up at some point. Apologies in advance.

Why horror?

I grew up in a house that was built in the 1700s. It was an old New England farmhouse with a dirt-floor cellar and secret passageways still intact. It creaked and groaned as all good old houses ought to do. At night, the bats would fly out of the hayloft and swoop down to eat the mosquitoes around the enormous willow tree in the middle of the backyard. There were corn fields everywhere, as far as the eye could see. When we moved in, my parents had to take mystery urns out of the attic and give them back to the landlord. Because who the hell leaves dead people behind in the attic? OUR LANDLORD, THAT’S WHO.

Why horror? Because THOSE were my formative years.

And they were wonderful.

What horror scene stayed with you and why?

I read THE SHINING when I was a wee lass and developed a terrible fear of topiary animals because of it. When I saw the movie version, I developed a huge fear of twins because CREEPY. OH MY GOD CREEPY-ASS TWINS. I HATE THEM SO MUCH.

Pennywise from IT can go straight to Hell. The crab-walking scene from The Exorcist still makes me catatonic. And just to round out this list? Yeah, thanks The Ring for making that horrid girl-creature lurch out of that well. I don’t at all hate you forever.

Are there any horror projects you’re looking forward to?

Lots. Obviously my SQ co-pilots, but by now they’ve been linked so many times I’m going to spare the readers. Just know that these chicks write some seriously creepy stuff. You should find them and hug them so they don’t stab you with stabbity things.

Are you writing horror currently or will you be? If so, tell us about it!

I just finished the edits on MARY, my debut coming from Disney-Hyperion. Once that’s glossy and shiny and ready to see the light of day, I’ll be working on its sequel. I also have a creepy little germ for a spin on the Hook Hand urban legend which will take place in the same cursed town as MARY. If you ever stumble into a place called Solomon’s Folly, I would suggest you get the hell out. That place’s got some issues, man.



Categories: Introductions

Tags: ,

3 replies

  1. I’ve had the dark delight of being friends and critting with Hillary for a few years now. MARY is the book that forever ruined going past mirrors at night for me. So thrilled that it’s hitting bookstores next year!

  2. A creepy New England farmhouse? Suddenly I feel like I understand so much more about you, Hillary. 😉

  3. Eep! I am so so so soooooo excited about MARY! I cannot wait. 😀

Leave a Reply

