SCREAM QUEEN: Heather Marie

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

When I’m not writing or plotting, I’m usually obsessing over a show on Netflix or reading through a stack of library books. I live in Northern California with my husband, tortoise and our fat cat, Jill. I’m also a retired makeup artist/hairstylist, and quite enjoy my newly acquired big-girl-office-job. I’m actually pretty boring IRL and would rather stay at home and read than anything else.

Why horror?

I love the scare. Honestly, I’ve always been into the paranormal aspect of horror, but when I became a make-up artist, I began learning more about monster make-up and I love seeing it in action. Even though I’m looking for the seams of the prosthetics most of the time, I’m a huge fan of monster movies. From classics to the campy. I’m not about shock factor/gore. I love when someone can create an image without going too far overboard to the point where it’s forced. You shouldn’t have to try so hard to make something scary. That’s my biggest problem with horror movies now n’ days.

What horror scene stayed with you and why?

I will never forget the ending of Sleepaway Camp. If you’ve never seen it, then I don’t want to ruin it for you. I never saw that coming and the way the actress portrayed that scene was just fantastic. So creepy and mind blowing. One of the most memorable endings to a horror movie ever.

Are there any projects you’re looking forward to?

Pretty much everything written by the YA Scream Queens. Also, PROJECT CAIN by Geoffrey Girard is high on my list. A teenager created by the blood of Jeffrey Dahmer? Yes, please!

Are you writing horror currently?

I’m always writing something for the horror genre. I currently have a gothic horror in the works, as well as a super bizarre supernatural that has become my new favorite. As it is, I’m currently querying a YA supernatural that I hope will someday make it into the world. Stay tuned!



Categories: Introductions

Tags: ,

3 replies

  1. Good luck, Heather! I’m with you in the paranormal horror/Gothic horror camp. They’re my favorites as well.

  2. I’m addicted to Netflix tv show marathons. Happy to see I’m not the only one.

  3. Great interview, Heather!! I love paranormal and gothic horror too, so so much! 😀

Leave a Reply

